From: news


Irish Cup 2016 presentation

The following is the draw (with nominators) for the €40,000 to-the-winner 2017 Irish Cup which gets underway at Limerick Racecourse on Friday next, February 24th. The field is headed by last year’s winner Foot Solution seen here with connections & ICC / Irish Cup representatives following his success 12 months ago. The runner-up on that occasion, Drive On Smokey is also returning and no less than eight of the top ten points scorers for this year’s Kevin Smith Champion Stakes will be in action (Howdododo & Half The Odds being the exceptions).  The puppy brigade are led by Derby semi-finalist Wiseguy Mark and quarter-finalists Needham Eoin & Ballinveala Yolo whilst Kingsmill Ariel attempts to become the first bitch to win the Irish Cup in 25 years, Dunsilly Queen in 1992 being the last to achieve this feat.

John Boyle Ashmore Rocket (p) v Tim O’Driscoll Skellig Shane
Mark Dilger Judiligence v O. Comerford & J. Herbert Abunchoftools (p)
Dermot O’Shea Cherrygrove Wolf v Raymond Smith Ballyhast Flyer
Patsy & Berkie Browne Octane Wonder v Marie Field Kyle Mozart
Matthew Ryan Killacolla Jet (p) v Michael Spillane Killarney Hilark James
Tadhg Sullivan Essential v Brendan Matthews Wallace Banner
Padraig and Conor Ryan Tory Hill Denzel v Michael Horgan Kilkillogue (p)
John Wilson Donovanneighbour v Jimmy Quinn Galevalley Hero (p)

Noreen McManus Alcar v Pat Burke Hold Firm
Liam & William Riordan Wiseguy Mark (p) v Tony Reddan Kerry Abu
M. O’Donovan Killaloe Foot Solution v Luke Kilcoyne Acres Bob (p)
Michael Spillane Bantry Gurteen Davi (p) v Christy Murphy Oldfriendsrbest (p)
Vincent Purtill Ballinveala Yolo (p) v Brian Murphy Highland Hunter
M. O’Donovan Tipperary Go Usain Go (p) v Murty McMahon Ivy Hill Time
Sir Mark Prescott Kingcormac Fairy v Noel Collins For The Parish (p)
Kieran Barry & John Harty Earl Of Clare v Caroline Foran Yippee Razor

Ned and Tommy Relihan Needham Eoin (p) v Brian & Laurence Jones Smearla Dresden (p)
Brendan Farrelly Dillrock Mick v John Egan Domain King
Eamonn Kiely Jet Stream v May Doolin Breska Diamond (p)
Pat Savage Kyle Bruce v Mary Fitzgerald Ever So Magic (p)
Leo Walsh Tellmemorelies v Pat Horgan Drive On Smokey
Una O’Sullivan Blueview Huggle v Bridget Byrne Carrowkeal Gavin
John Garrahy Mustdoitagain v Peter O Loghlen Walkinmyshoes
Basil Holian Maker Of Rules v Charlie & Gerry Chawke Champion Times

Francis Brooke Tractorman v Matt Feheney Callura Sonic (p)
Brian Divilly Kingsmill Jasper v Oliver Scallon Portane Ash
Fr. John Fitzgibbon Carmac Chaos(p) v Nora & Oliver Raleigh Ham and Inch (p)
Countess Dunraven & Lady Anna Brians Choice (p) v Jack O’Rourke Balleen Voyager
John Roche & Michael Fitzpatrick Kingsmill Ariel (b) v Brendan Duffy Stonepark Mick (p)
Pat Dalton Serene Angel v Mike Mann Cuine Hero
Tony Quinn Cuine Yet v Pat Pyne and Patsy Myers Another Country (p)
Pat Curtin Manntan Manor v Brendan Keogh Battleoftheboyne

Reserves:  Needham Frankel;  Kyle Alex ; Isle Of Destiny ; Cuine Dale ; Ballymore Sam ; Private Pulse ; Ballyglen Duke ; Ramona Jingles ;