Brood Bitch of the Year 2

Blades progeny on fire

Unlucky Champion Bitch Stakes runner-up Blades of Glory has produced some exceptionally fast greyhounds since being retired to the breeding paddocks.
However as owner Denis Guiney said at the ICC Awards on Saturday night last he thought a Classic win was going to elude her. That all changed of course on January 30th of this year when two of her sons Reikers Island and the Guiney family owned Blades Of Fire divided the 2017 BoyleSports Derby.
Their sister Our Miztique also reached the quarter-final of the Oaks so it was no surprise that Blades Of Glory was voted ICC Brood Bitch of the Year for the second time in three years.

Our photo shows Mike O’Connell (representing sponsor Richard Maher of Event Power Ltd, Thurles) presenting the trophy to Denis’s mam Mary and members of the Guiney family together with trainer Gerry Holian and Jacqueline Farrell.

Stud dog Adios Alonso

Awards mount up for Adios Alonso

In the 15 year history of the ICC Stud Dog of the Year Award only five different dogs have won the Award including Adios Alonso who took his third title this year.
The other winners are Hilltown (5), Bexhill Eoin (4) and Ashmore View, Kingsmill Dynamo and Razor Ashmore with one Award each.

Adios Alonso had previously won the Award which is kindly sponsored by the National Meeting Bookmakers in 2013 and 2015 so he appears to be making a habit of winning every second year. This might be of some comfort to other Stud Dog owners as we head towards the 2017/18 season !!!.
However there was no doubting his supremacy during the season just gone, siring the Oaks winner Knockout Glory and the two Derby dividers Reikers Island and Blades Of Fire as well as a host of other big stake winners and National Meeting qualifiers.

Our photo shows Michael Sheil representing the National Meeting Bookmakers presenting the trophy at the ICC Awards last weekend to Gerry Holian who trained Adios Alonso to win the 2010 Derby. To the right of Michael is John O’Sullivan who co-owns the dog with Richard Maher and Basil Holian.

Reikers 2

ICC Award Winners 2017

Many congratulations to our ICC Award Winners for 2017.
A big thank you also to our Award Sponsors and to all of you who voted.
Our photo shows 2017 Greyhound of the Year, Reikers Island, with Dr Paddy & Mary O’Kelly.

Greyhound & Pet World Abbeyfeale Coursing Dog of the Year


Flaherty Markets Galway Coursing Bitch of the Year


National Meeting Bookmakers Coursing Stud Dog of the Year


Event Power Ltd Thurles Coursing Brood Bitch of the Year


Hall of Fame Award (Kindly sponsored by Brian Divilly)
JIMMY DARCY, Urlingford, Co Kilkenny  


News and Notices

TESTING NOTICE –  Owners and Trainers please be advised that a public draw will take place after the last final at all provincial coursing meetings this season. The Winners of Two of the following events will be selected for testing as per Rule 88 of the ICC:

  • All Age Dog winner
  • All Age Bitch winner
  • Derby Trial Stake winner
  • Oaks Trial Stake winner
  • Other prominent stake as decided by Executive Committee

VOTING RIGHTS FOR COURSING GREYHOUND OF THE YEAR AWARDS – Similar to last season, voting rights will be extended to all subscribed members of the ICC Web Site. To have a vote you must be a subscribed member by December 31, 2017.  Watch out too for our 2018 National Meeting Tipster Competition which will be confined to subscribed members.





The following rule amendments were ratified by the Board of the IGB and will be effective as and from December 5, 2016.

Rule 95 – Description of Entry

Every subscriber to a stake shall name his greyhound before the time fixed for closing the entry, giving the names of the sire and dam of the greyhound entered. All greyhounds must be microchipped in compliance with the Microchipping of Dogs Regulations 2015. A subscriber shall be required to produce an Identity Card at slips and any greyhound whose markings do not correspond with those given on the Identity Card shall be disqualified and, if through any omission or oversight, it is allowed to compete without complying with this ruling, it shall, if it be so proved to the satisfaction of the Executive Committee, on an objection, be disqualified.

Rule 97 – Acceptance of Entries

97 (A.2) All greyhounds must be microchipped in compliance with the Microchipping of Dogs Regulations 2015.

Rule 159 – Condition of Entry

159 C – All greyhounds must be microchipped in compliance with the Microchipping of Dogs Regulations 2015.

Directive – Greyhounds Eligible to Compete

C- All greyhounds must be microchipped in compliance with the Microchipping of Dogs Regulations 2015.


Important Notice to Breeders

Breeding Notification Commencement Date is October 24th,2014.
As and from the 24th October, 2014, Owners/Lessors of a bitch that is mated shall notify the Irish Coursing Club of such a mating by forwarding a ‘Breeding Notification’ form in compliance with Rule 60 and Rule 77 of the Irish Coursing Club Rules.
These forms are available from Control Stewards, the Irish Coursing Club Office, on your Sporting Press and from stud dog agents.
Forms may also be downloaded under ICC Forms on
The ‘Breeding Notification’ form must be submitted by the owner/lessor to the Irish Coursing Club within 14 days of mating and no fee will apply in that instance. Failure to notify within the required 14 days will incur fees and if form is lodged after 50 days the litter will be debarred from events confined to greyhounds of a specific age. Fees are outlined on the ‘Breeding Notification’ form.

Bitch and Litter Inspections
Bitch and litter inspections, both track and coursing, will take place on a continuous basis going forward. This practice is in keeping with maintaining the integrity of the Stud Book and to assist in verifying breeding data for all industry stakeholders. The format will entail inspection of bitches prior/post whelping and will be conducted by dedicated inspection staff.
The success of this activity is dependent on full co-operation by all.
Signed: Keeper of the Stud Book, D.J. Histon